Foxcatcher

When I sit down to watch a film festival movie I feel it always goes one way or another. Direction A is the movie takes you to a time and place and tells a story in a unique way hollywood films can’t. They introduce you to a new perspective that mimics you being in the room with the characters. It’s not always flashy and fast paced but feeds more so off the quiet moments that are slow and drawn out. (Boring for the instant gratification society we have become but appreciated by those who miss sitting still and taking a moment in) Direction B is you get all comfy and cozy and your excitment is high because the whole universe is talking about this movie and you are met with something that seems either confusing or just down right garbage. Why is everyone talking about this? Clearly the people who are raving about this film are only doing so because they think it’s cool. It’s like the critics version of hipsters.  The amount of hype some of these films get can be comparable to Frozen. Even those without children can understand the pain felt when you walk by a product that has nothing to do with the title, the film, or the characters yet there they are. It’s just you and Anaface to face….. In the tooth paste isle! What’s next Elsa tampons “Our long braid conceals so you don’t feel and they don’t know” (I’m totally copy writing that) 

Ok so we went off topic back to the reason I started to wrote this. 

 The film did have some slow parts, I personally don’t mind them but other might lose interest. The big flaw I felt the film doesn’t time stamp enough to give you a full understanding of how long Dave Schultz and John Du Pont where actually friends. I feel the weight of the movie lies in the fact Dave lived on those grounds for 10 years with his wife and children. Clearly this was a full relationship and John watched these kids grow. With that aside the acting in this film was top knotch. Many girls get excited about Channing Tatum but my sad heart longs for mark ruffalo. There are days where I just feel a mark ruffalo or john cusak film is all I need. Steve carell had me at little miss sunshine but won me full on with crazy stupid love. All 3 men did such an amazing job in this film. I don’t think the film is an academy award film but the acting defiantly stood at par. 

The next film I am so excited to see is Selma, until then back to my realty tv. 

Xo 

Leave a comment